rebjmccann

Now and Then

In Uncategorized on October 29, 2014 at 12:57 am

(Lover) You Don’t Treat Me No Good

Chet Faker‘s star rose quick. From the likes of the sultry I’m Into You, with its killer hooks and dripping raw soul, it’s little wonder. Chet’s Like A Version for Triple J is easily the best I’ve heard this year.

His sexy voice matches his sexy beard – you’re welcome.

And an interesting tidbit of useless information… Nick Murphy (otherwise known as Chet) was in the same graduating class of SKevs boys as my own little bro. One of them is kicking arse at Alfred Hospital, the other at Triple J. Gold stars all round.

The original version of this great pop of soul recorded and released by Sonia Dada in 1992. It enjoyed four weeks at the very top of the ARIA charts.

I may have only been 6 years old, but I was lucky enough to have a father who’d cook pancakes on a Saturday while we watched RAGE. I loved it then, I still love it now.

Thanks to Chet’s re-imagining, a whole ‘nuther generation can enjoy the original if they missed it the first time around, not to mention a sparkling homegrown cover.

chet faker smiles

Leave a comment